Go to Top
[maxbutton id="1"]

STC Board of Directors Welcomes Six New Members

ALBUQUERQUE, NM – SEPTEMBER 1, 2015. The STC.UNM Board of Directors welcomed six new members at its July 31, 2015 board meeting. Three of the new board members are replacing members who have either stepped down from the board or whose term have expired, with the other three appointed as additional new members. UNM Regent James H. Koch replaced Robert Doughty as the Regent member of the STC board. Dr. Sang Han was appointed to replace Dr. Mansoor Sheik-Bahae as the main-campus faculty member and Dr. Eric Prossnitz was appointed to replace Dr. Pope Moseley as the HSC-faculty member of the STC board. Mr. Gene Gallegos (a former Regent member of the board) was appointed as a non-UNM member as was Mr. Terry Laudick, CEO of Nusenda Credit Union. Additionally, Dr. Craig G. White, Interim Dean of the Anderson School of Management, was appointed as a UNM member.

“The STC Board is comprised of a 40/60 mix of UNM and non-UNM members. This is to ensure that there is strong private sector influence on the STC Board, which has proven to be a crucial factor in our success,” said STC CEO Lisa Kuuttila. “Members of the Board are researchers, inventors, academics, administrators, business executives and owners, lawyers and community leaders, with local, national and international ties. The Board guides STC in its mission to nurture innovation and economic development for the UNM community. We feel very fortunate to have such a talented and experienced group of people.”

J. E. (Gene) Gallegos, Esq (web).Mr. Gene Gallegos

Mr. Gallegos is President of the Gallegos Law Firm, P. C. He received two degrees from the University of New Mexico: a B.A. in government and psychology in 1956 and a J.D. in 1960. He entered into private practice in 1963 after serving as an Assistant U. S. Attorney and Assistant Attorney General of New Mexico. He was a senior shareholder in the Santa Fe law firm of Jones, Gallegos, Snead & Wertheim since the firm’s professional incorporation in 1975. In 1987 he left the Jones firm to start the Gallegos Law Firm. Mr. Gallegos has achieved widespread recognition for his experience in commercial and antitrust litigation, with particular emphasis on complex natural gas matters. He is recognized by the New Mexico Board of Legal Specialization as a specialist in the area of Natural Resources—Oil and Gas Law.


Sang Han Photo (web)Dr. Sang M. Han

Dr. Han is a professor in the Departments of Chemical & Biological Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of New Mexico, as well as the Director of the Nanoscience and Microsystems Program. He earned his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of California at Santa Barbara and his B.S. in chemical engineering with honors from the University of California at Berkeley. His current research topics include (1) thin film processing and nanoscale surface corrugation for enhanced light trapping for photovoltaic devices; (2) technology development for energy harvesting in urban areas; (3) metal matrix composite development for high-efficiency multijunction solar cells; (4) heteroepitaxial films on Si for photovoltaic, electronic, and sensor applications; and (5) hybrid micro/nanofluidic systems for advanced bioseparation and analysis.


Jamie+Koch (web)Mr. James H. Koch

 Mr. Koch is president of Daniels Insurance in Santa Fe. A former legislator, he was the original author of the Inspection of Records Act, the New Mexico equivalent of the national Freedom of Information Act that protects the rights of all people to access public information and records. Mr. Koch has continued to remain active at the highest levels of New Mexico, serving as state chair of the Democratic Party in 2002 and as a key advisor to current and former governors for four decades. He received his bachelor’s degree in education from UNM in 1959. He was appointed to the UNM Board of Regents in January 2003, January 2009 and January 2015.



TerryLaudick(web)Mr. Terry Laudick

Mr. Laudick, CCUE, CUDE, has been with Nusenda Credit Union (formerly New Mexico Educators Federal Credit Union) since 1993.  He became president and CEO of Nusenda in 2000 and previously served as COO and executive vice president of marketing.  He has previously worked for credit unions and credit union associations in Kansas, Oklahoma and New York.  He is a graduate of the CUNA Certified Credit Union Executive Program and NCUF Credit Union Development Education Program.  In 2013, he was recognized by the National Association of Federal Credit Unions as CEO of the Year.  In addition to his position at the Credit Union, Mr. Laudick serves on the steering committees of Innovation Central and Innovate ABQ, the Board of Directors of Innovate ABQ, Inc. (chair), CO-OP Financial Services, Credit Union Service Network, CNM Foundation and CU Anytime.  He also serves on the Advisory Committees for the APS/CNM College & Career High School, Allied Solutions and FISERV/XP Systems.


EricProssnitz(web)Dr. Eric R. Prossnitz

Dr. Prossnitz is a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Molecular Medicine, at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center. He received his Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley and completed post-doctoral training at the Scripps Research Institute, where he advanced to faculty before relocating to UNM in 1997. He has more than 25 years of experience in studying receptor-mediated signaling and drug discovery, having been continuously funded by the NIH since 1994. The goal of his research is to determine the role of individual estrogen receptors in health and disease, particularly cancer.



craig-white (web)Dr. Craig G. White

Dr. White is the interim dean and professor of accounting in the Department of Accounting at UNM’s Anderson School of Management. Dr. White came to UNM Anderson in 1998. He holds both Ph.D. and M.S. degrees from Texas Tech University and a B.B.A. from Texas A&M University. Prior to entering academia, he worked in the tax department of the Fort Worth, Texas, office of Price Waterhouse. He has twice been recognized as the New Mexico Society of CPAs Accounting Educator of the Year and is a prior recipient of the Anderson School of Management’s Community Leadership Award.