Go to Top
[maxbutton id="1"]

2018 STC.UNM Innovation Awards Dinner Will Honor University of New Mexico Inventors and STC and NAI Innovation Fellows

Program Cover imageAlbuquerque, NM – April 2, 2018.  STC.UNM will host its fifteenth annual Innovation Awards Dinner on Thursday, April 12, 2018, from 5:00-7:30 p.m. at the University of New Mexico Student Union Building (SUB) Ballrooms B & C. The event will honor 63 faculty, staff and students who have received issued U. S. patents, trademarks and registered copyrights within the past year.  The 2018 STC.UNM Innovation Fellow Award will also be presented to Dr. Sang M. Han, Regents Professor in the Departments of Chemical & Biological Engineering and Electrical & Computer Engineering, who will be recognized for his achievements as an outstanding UNM inventor.  Also recognized will be UNM Distinguished Professors Cheryl L. Willman and Plamen Atanassov, who have been named 2017 Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).  This national honor recognizes academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation.

David S. Joseph, Co-Founder & CEO of Avisa Pharma, Inc., will be our keynote speaker.  Mr. Joseph has forty years of executive healthcare and life science management experience as the co-founder and CEO of five companies in medical technology, biomaterials and biopharmaceuticals.  Avisa Pharma is a New Mexico-based startup created to commercialize breath test technology developed at UNM by Dr. Graham Timmins from the College of Pharmacy.

The following 63 UNM faculty, staff and students received issued U. S. patents within the past year (March 1, 2017 – February 28, 2018).  The university inventors run the gamut from first-time inventors to experienced inventors and include UNM professors, research professors, distinguished and Regents professors, professors emeriti, staff members, and postdoctoral students.  The inventors represent departments and research/clinical centers across the main and health sciences campuses that reflect a strong level of collaboration.  Several inventors are being honored for multiple issued patents.

There’s still time to register to attend this event.  Tickets are $30 and include a plated dinner.  The deadline has been extended to April 8.  Go to http://InnovationAwards2018.eventbrite.com/.


Nalin I. Andersen, Ph.D.
Ladan Arissian, Ph.D.
Dorian C. Arnold, Ph.D.
Kateryna D. Artyushkova, Ph.D.
Plamen B. Atanassov, Ph.D.
Ganesh Balakrishnan, Ph.D.
Denis E. Bragin, Ph.D.
C. Jeffrey Brinker, Ph.D.
Steven R.J. Brueck, Ph.D.
Joseph L. Cecchi, Ph.D.
Bryce C. Chackerian, Ph.D.
Christos G. Christodoulou, Ph.D.
Joseph Costantine, Ph.D.
Abhaya K. Datye, Ph.D.
Jean-Claude Diels, Ph.D.
Bruce S. Edwards, Ph.D.
Jeremy S. Edwards, Ph.D.
Rafael Fierro, Ph.D.
Brandi C. Fink, Ph.D.
Mikhail I. Fuks, Ph.D.
Sang M. Han, Ph.D.
Mark Hauswald, Ph.D.
Majeed M. Hayat, Ph.D.
Mark K. Haynes, Ph.D.
Elizabeth L. Hedberg-Dirk, Ph.D.
Stephen D. Hersee, Ph.D.
Mani Hossein-Zadeh, Ph.D.
Laurie G. Hudson, Ph.D.
Ravinder K. Jain, Ph.D.
Ying-Bing Jiang, Ph.D.
Christopher C. Lamb, Ph.D.
Olga A. Lavrova, Ph.D.
Seung-Chang Lee, Ph.D.
Ke Jian (Jim) Liu, Ph.D.
Shuang (Sean) Luan, Ph.D.
Andrea A. Mammoli, Ph.D.
Erin D. Milligan, Ph.D.
Edwin M. Nemoto, Ph.D.
Alexander Neumann, Ph.D.
Jeffrey P. Norenberg, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Tudor I. Oprea, Ph.D.
Marek A. Osinski, Ph.D.
Rong Pan, Ph.D.
David S. Peabody, Ph.D.
John B. Plumley, Ph.D.
Sudhakar Prasad, Ph.D.
Paul A. Rodriguez-Valderrama, Ph.D.
Wolfgang Rudolph, Ph.D.
Edl Schamiloglu, Ph.D.
Larry A. Sklar, Ph.D.
Gennady A. Smolyakov, Ph.D.
Randall Starling, Ph.D.
Zurab Surviladze, Ph.D.
Lydia E. Tapia, Ph.D.
Youssef A. Tawk, Ph.D.
Graham S. Timmins, Ph.D.
Alan E. Tomkinson, Ph.D.
Angela Wandinger-Ness, Ph.D.
Timothy L. Ward, Ph.D.
David G. Whitten, Ph.D.
Nathan J. Withers, Ph.D.
Haifeng Xiong, Ph.D.
Payman Zarkesh-Ha, Ph.D.