Go to Top
[maxbutton id="1"]

2017 STC.UNM Innovation Awards Dinner Will Honor University of New Mexico Inventors and Innovation Fellows

IA Program cover image for websiteAlbuquerque, NM – March 22, 2017.  STC.UNM will host its fourteenth annual Innovation Awards Dinner on Tuesday, April 4, 2017, from 5:00-7:30 p.m. at the University of New Mexico Student Union Building (SUB) Ballrooms B & C, to honor 68 faculty, staff and students who have received issued U. S. patents, trademarks and registered copyrights within the past year.  The 2017 STC.UNM Innovation Fellow Award will also be presented to Dr. David Peabody and Dr. Bryce Chackerian, professors in the Department of Molecular Genetics & Microbiology, who will be recognized for their achievements as outstanding UNM inventors.  Also recognized will be UNM Vice President for Research Dr. Gabriel López, who has been named a 2016 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).  This national honor recognizes academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation.

R. Terry Dunlay, Founder, President and CEO of Intellicyt (a Sartorius company), will be our keynote speaker. Mr. Dunlay is a serial entrepreneur, electrical engineer, and inventor with more than 25 years of experience in growing innovative technology companies. Intellicyt is an Albuquerque start-up created to commercialize flow cytometry technology developed at UNM by Dr. Larry Sklar and Dr. Bruce Edwards. In July, the company was sold to international pharma company Sartorius AG for $90 million, representing the largest acquisition to date of a local start-up company spun out of UNM technology.

The following 68 UNM faculty, staff and students received issued U. S. patents within the past year (March 1, 2016-February 28, 2017), representing the largest number of UNM inventors to be recognized since the inception of the Innovation Awards event in 2004.  The university inventors run the gamut from first-time inventors to experienced inventors and include UNM professors, research professors, distinguished and Regents professors, emeritus professors, staff members, and graduate, doctoral and postdoctoral students.  The inventors represent departments and clinical/research centers across main and HSC campuses that reflect a strong level of collaboration. Several inventors are being honored for multiple issued patents.


Jacob O. Agola, Ph.D.
Kateryna D. Artyushkova, Ph.D.
Plamen B. Atanassov, Ph.D.
Nicu-Viorel Atudorei, Ph.D.
Edgar C. Boedeker, M.D.
Steven B. Bradfute, Ph.D.
Jeffrey Brinker, Ph.D.
Steven R. J. Brueck, Ph.D.
Eliseo Castillo, Ph.D.
Bryce Chackerian, Ph.D.
Alexandre Chigaev, Ph.D.
Seong W. Choi, Ph.D.
Vojo P. Deretic, Ph.D.
Jean-Claude Diels, Ph.D.
Ravi V. Durvasula, M.D.
Bruce S. Edwards, Ph.D.
Petr G. Eliseev, Ph.D.
Steven W. Graves, Ph.D.
Sang E. Han, Ph.D.
Sang M. Han, Ph.D.
Majeed M. Hayat, Ph.D.
Mark K. Haynes, Ph.D.
Joshua P. Hecker, Ph.D.
Elizabeth L. Hedberg-Dirk, Ph.D.
Stephen D. Hersee, Ph.D.
Mani Hossein-Zadeh, Ph.D.
Linnea K. Ista, Ph.D.
Ravinder K. Jain, Ph.D.
Ying-Bing Jiang, Ph.D.
Ronald R. Kay, P.E.
Yuliya V. Kuznetsova, Ph.D.
Matthew R. Lakin, Ph.D.
Richard S. Larson, M.D., Ph.D.
Seung-Chang Lee, Ph.D.
Gabriel P. López, Ph.D.
Julie A. Lovchik, Ph.D.
Shuang (Sean) Luan, Ph.D.
Debra A. MacKenzie, Ph.D.
Melanie E. Moses, Ph.D.
Alexander Neumann, Ph.D.
Jeffrey P. Norenberg, Pharma.D., Ph.D.
Tudor I. Oprea, M.D., Ph.D.
Marek A. Osiński, Ph.D.
Marios S. Pattichis, Ph.D.
David S. Peabody, Ph.D.
Dominique R. Perez, B.S.
Sudhakar Prasad, Ph.D.
Aaron J. Roy
Christina Salas, Ph.D.
Alexey Serov, Ph.D.
Zachary D. Sharp, Ph.D.
Mansoor Sheik-Bahae, Ph.D.
Andrew P. Shreve, Ph.D.
Scott S. Sibbett, Ph.D.
Larry A. Sklar, Ph.D.
Darko Stefanovic, Ph.D.
Zurab Surviladze, Ph.D.
Mahmoud R. Taha, Ph.D.
Todd A. Thompson, Ph.D.
Graham S. Timmins, Ph.D.
Charles R. Truman, Ph.D.
Angela Wandinger-Ness, Ph.D.
Timothy L. Ward, Ph.D.
Walker R. Wharton, Ph.D.
David G. Whitten, Ph.D.
Cheryl L. Willman, M.D.
Shaorong Yang, Ph.D.
Payman Zarkesh-Ha, Ph.D.